The Candescents – Wet Tuesday – Single Review

The quartet of Alex Harris, Alex von Lehmden, Miguel Alfredo Acero III, Cody von Lehmden from Columbus (USA) who form the indie-suede band The Candescents released the single Wet Tuesday on the 11th.

The Candescents - photo by Aysia Marotta
The Candescents – photo by Aysia Marotta

Dial down the stresses of daily life to the creamy flow of Wet Tuesday as the trouser hems of guitar shuffle through the room accompanied by an expressive and expansive vocal which is able to skip through rising and dropping stanzas with alacrity while the extensive use of softly brushed cymbals add to the dream-like composition as bass swoops in and out of focal point while bass-drum maintains a steadying hand to the composition.

Wet Tuesday – Single – The Candescents is available on iTunes.*


For more release reviews, join Emerging Indie Bands on Facebook.

*Purchases made through the iTunes link will result in Emerging Indie Bands earning a commission.

The Chocolate Watchband – This Is My Voice – Audio

On the 22nd of February 2019 the trippy-garage quintet of 
David Aguilar (Lead Vocals / Harmonica / Keyboards / Percussion), 
Gary Andrijasevich (Drums / Vocals), Tim Abbott (Lead Guitar / Electric Sitar / Harmonica /keyboards / Vocals), Derek See (Rhythm Guitar / Twelve String Guitar / Keyboards / Vocals) and Alec Palao (Bass / Vocals) from San Jose (USA) who form The Chocolate Watchband will release the LP This Is My Voice.

The Chocolate Watchband

The Chocolate Watchband

The eclectic range of instrumentation and variety of voices to hand enable the quintet to deliver music of both varied weave and texturing, though they never dig in to the toolbox in an attempt to add frippery, rather keep the music well rooted in raw garage freshness.

The eleven track album (available on bandcamp) invites the listener to slough off the trials and tribulations of the day and join them robed in a tie-dyed kaftan.

The third and title track on the LP is the tripped out and sitar laden This Is My Voice.


Join Emerging Indie Bands on Twitter for more release news.

Protovulcan – The Force Remains The Same – Audio

Surfacing from Chicago (USA) the trio of Nicholas Ammerman (Guitar), Deric Criss (Drums) and Will MacLean (Moog Bass / Wurlitzer / Vocoder) are the dystopian-rock band Protovulcan who on the 25th of January 2019 will be releasing the double LP Life Is Twigs / Psychic Pinball.


Three years since their last LP, Stakes is Low (available on bandcamp), their return is more than welcome.

The first track to surface from the release – The Force Remains the Same – is marked by a darkness that rumbles through the room in which extensive use of delay pedal gives the music its irrepressible oppressive presence, laying all ground to dust in its wake.

social media page

For more release news – join Emerging Indie Bands on Twitter.

Jamie Woodfin Jr. – Life In A Bubble – Audio

The alt-rock project of Jamie Woodfin Jr. from Louisville (USA) creates music of dark demeanour.

Jamie Woodfin Jr

Jamie Woodfin Jr

A week yesterday the twelve track LP Synchronized Noise (available on bandcamp) was released. An album that displays a variety of influences in the output, with each track drawing from different wells, though always in common is a rooting in rock and a brooding, oppressive, countenance.

The half-spoken vocals enables the songs to create searing rumbles of ominous presence which roll through the room as though borne of stormy clouds.

Life In A Bubble is the sixth track.


For more music from around the world, join Emerging Indie Bands on Facebook.

Band Of The Month – November 2018 – Editors’ Choice

Slightly later than normal, the Editors’ Choice for Band Of The Month

Vacant Stares - Band Of The Month November 2018

Vacant Stares

…from the USA – the gothwave quartet Vacant Stares from the USA.

A R 1 5 is from their eponymous EP which is available on bandcamp.

For more of the best developing bands from around the world, join Emerging Indie Bands on Facebook.