Musique Le Pop

Musique Le Pop from Fredrikstad in Norway is the electro-indie trio of Christoffer Schou, Jon Kristian Furuheim and Elisabeth Thorsen.

Musique Le Pop - electro-indie from Norway

Musique Le Pop

Underneath the shiny veneer Musique Le Pop have a heart and soul and there is nothing wrong with making music that is on first glance is so light on it’s feet that it makes helium filled balloons seem heavy, as long as you do it with credence and for all its ease, there is integrity within the sounds. Within the lightness are barbs as the trio combine synthetics, drum machines, vocal and guitar to deliver rainbow coloured textures of music.

Straddling a difficult precipice Musique Le Pop on the one hand remind of ‘Disco’ whilst simultaneously of synth-wave and they handle the balance well with the darker hues whirring inside the glitter. Whether it is a style that will resonate with fans of either is more difficult to judge, but I raise my hat to them for working with it.

I personally gained much from their five track début EP l’été which was released yesterday as the tracks stray from the beach dance party to a Gauloises smoke filled Café on the South Bank of the Seine.


l’été EP – EP – Musique Le Pop is available on iTunes*

Join Emerging Indie Bands on Tumblr for more electro-indie.

*Purchases made through the iTunes Link will result in Emerging Indie Bands earning a commission.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.