Call It Reckless

Call It Reckless from Norwich in England is the indie-rock quintet of Rachael Holland (Vocals), James Harpham (Guitar), Tom Griffiths (Guitar), James Bussey (Bass) and Marc Allum (Drums).

Call It Reckless - indie rock from England

Call It Reckless

A soaring sound emerges from the speakers as Call It Reckless join in the throng of bands in this mid-Atlantic coalescing morass of music, yet there is something that finds them rising above the plethora, as inside the commonality of chords lays some not insignificant singularity. The effervescent enthusiastic abandonment raises a smile in the heart, as the quintet throw their heart and soul into the compositions. which have the feet tapping along in harmony as the exuberance gushes into the ears.

This is a difficult space to make a mark, particularly given the mood shift in music over the past few months and I hope that these talented individuals do diverge from their current space, which is in danger of becoming rinse and repeat.

Whatever you do, don’t take the concluding paragraph as a negative, this is a band with so much more to give and one I would really like to see do well as I think they could – if only they chose to travel their own route rather than trammel the current path.

This should be a sound from which I recoil, given the awful drawled accent, which you know I find instantly grating, along with attempting to mine a barren and unfertile soundscape that lies in the Sargasso Sea, but I don’t and that is a testament to the underlying abilities that lay within Call It Reckless. I just hope they redirect their compass of travel to explore their individuality rather than their commonality.


Join Emerging Indie Bands on Tumblr for more thoughts about musicians from across the globe.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.