Body Type – Palms – Audio

The Sydney (Australia) gaze-rock quartet of  Sophie McComish (Guitar /Vocals), Annabel Blackman (Guitar /Vocals), Georgia Wilkinson-Derums (Bass / Vocals), Cecil Coleman (Drums) who form the band Body Type will be releasing their eponymous LP on the 19th of October.

Body Type - photo by Andrew J Clarke

Body Type – photo by Andrew J Clarke

The interwoven guitars wrap around the listener like a cashmere jacket in a luxurious thread of washed echoing reverb, while the pressing bass holds the architecture in taut reign with drum pushing along the pace, giving the songs their infectious tempo as vocal, with its judicious mix of one or multiple voices, creates a smokey haze that compliments the guitars.

Palms is the second of the six songs on the album, which is available on bandcamp.

social media page

For more release news, join Emerging Indie Bands on Facebook.

Smokin’ On Planes – Parallel Lives – Audio

Smokin’ On Planes is the rock trio of Nick Galasso (Vocal / Guitar), Miguel Teixeira (Bass) and Omri Malal (Drums) based in Washington D.C. (USA).

Smokin' On Planes

Smokin’ On Planes

Their music has a completely absorbing flow, which akin to molten lava sliding down the slopes of a volcano has a variable viscosity, which gives the compositions their engaging textured dynamics. Formed earlier this year, there are only three tracks I have been able to hear, each of which has a retrospective air and a similarity of demeanour.

Parallel Lives is their signature combination of powerful bass and drum which are melded with a hazy ebbing and flow of the guitar which all in tandem with the Knopfleresque vocal delivery draws a reference to Dire Straits, though not as an imitation, merely an influencer and a trio I look forward to hearing more from in short order.

social media page

Parallel Lives – Single – Smokin’ on Planes is available on iTunes.*

Join Emerging Indie Bands on Facebook for more release reviews.

*Purchases made through the iTunes link will result in Emerging Indie Bands earning a commission.

Timmy’s Organism – Guzzle Gasoline – Audio

The acid-rock trio – Timmy’s Organism – which comprises of Timmy VulgarJeff Giant and Blake Hill, from Detroit (USA) release the LP Survival Of The Fiendish on the 5th of October.

Timmy's Organism

Timmy’s Organism

The ten track album (available on bandcamp) contains the quirks, crackles, distortion, explosive energy and far reaching imagination which has marked the creativity of Timmy Vulgar, in the various guises which have followed, since first releasing the signature sound of distorted acid rock back in the ’90s.

Timmy’s Organism will be heading out on a supporting tour through October and early November in the USA –

12th Chicago IL.@Thalia Hall*
13th Cleve OH.@Beachland Ballroom*
16th Buffalo NY.@Mohawk
17th NYC @Warsaw*
18th Detroit @Marble Bar
19th Milwaukee @Cactus Club
20th Minneapp MN.@Moon Palace Books
21st Fargo ND @Sidestreet
23rd Missoula MT.@the Union Bar
24th Seattle WA.@Funhouse
25th Portland OR.@the Liquor Store
26th San Francisco CA.@Vacation Vintage
27th Los Angelas CA. @Hi Hat
29th Phoenix AZ. @Lunch Box
30th El Paso TX. @Monarch
31st Austin TX. @Hotel Vegas~

1st New Orleans LA. @Poor Boys~
2nd Atlanta GA. @the Earl~
3rd Memphis TN. @Bar DKDC~
4th Nashville TN. @Cobra Lounge~
5th Louisvile KY. @Kaiju
6th Columbus OH. @Ace of cups

* with Oh Sees
~ with John Wesley Coleman III

Guzzle Gasoline, the first song to appear from the LP is also the first of the ten on Survival Of The Fiendish.

social media page

Join Emerging Indie Bands on Facebook for more release news.

The Struts – Bulletproof Baby – Audio

The English rock quartet The Struts will be releasing the LP Young & Dangerous on the 19th of October.

The Struts - Bulletproof Baby

The Struts

First introduced in 2012, while they have gone on to establish themselves as a well supported outfit, although there have been periods when they appear have forgotten who they are, seemingly  confusing life with hype – Bulletproof Baby – the fourth of the bakers dozen tracks on the album – finds their feet once again firmly planted on the ground.

YOUNG&DANGEROUS – The Struts is available on iTunes.*

Join Emerging Indie Bands on Facebook to follow more bands through their musical journey.

*Purchases made through the iTunes link will result in Emerging Indie Bands earning a commission.

Ivory Wave – Frankie – Single Review

The quintet of George Johnson (Vocals), Connor McMinn (Guitar), Luke Morris (Bass), Rob Clarke (Keys) and Seb Baldwin (Drummer) who form the indie-dance band from Birmingham in England –  Ivory Wave – released the single Frankie on the 14th.

Ivory Wave - photo by Laura Benwell

Ivory Wave – photo by Laura Benwell

Having introduced Ivory Wave earlier this year, with some enthusiasm on hitting play, not being well disposed towards vocoders the opening phrases had me scratching my head in doubt, only for that to rapidly be dispelled as Frankie soon flowers in to a a trippE track which would not have been out of place at The Haçienda.

The synth melts in to the instrumentation to create a spiralling psychedelia of cascaded rock from which the vocal drifts in and out of focus, demanding of an immediate replay. An extended 12″ dayglo yellow vinyl version would not be unwelcome either.

Frankie – Single – Ivory Wave is available on iTunes.*

Join Emerging Indie Bands on Facebook for more release reviews.

*Purchases made through the iTunes link will result in Emerging Indie Bands earning a commission.