Marsicans – Throw Ourselves In – Audio

The English indie quartet Marsicans released the single Throw Ourselves In on the 3rd.

With a more earthy sound to it than their last feature – Throw Ourselves In is highlighted by the double time percussion which gives the track a tempo that rips straight in to the brain, while the flexibility of guitar gives the song its crustiness with bass and vocal setting up phrases for the audience to get involved.

The end of the month sees them on a brief England, Scotland tour with Jaws.

24 Nov – Liverpool, Magnet
26 Nov – Newcastle, Riverside
27 Nov – Edinburgh, The Caves
29 Nov – York, The Crescent
30 Nov – Sheffield, Plug
01 Dec – Birmingham O2 Institute

Throw Ourselves In – Single – Marsicans is available on iTunes.*

For more release news – join Emerging Indie Bands on Google+.

*Purchases made through the iTunes link will result in Emerging Indie Bands earning a commission.

Marsicans – Absence – Video

The English indie-dance quartet Marsicans released the EP Absence – digitally on the 16th and to be released on vinyl on the 8th of October.

Marsicans - photo by - Robbie Jay Barratt - Photography

Marsicans – photo by – Robbie Jay Barratt – Photography

Having had the opportunity to wander through the four track plus four remixes release I am left feeling better for it.

Akin to taking a shower in orange flower-water Marsicans don’t seek to confront the listener and although this is music that will and has been enjoyed by those who like music covered with sugar, for those of us who like some splinters in their speakers, the quartet do not play from a template and can find a refraction in the diamond cuts which imbue colour. Investing their output with a sense of realisation that a direct connection with the listener is of far more import than a cut and paste of chords and keys.

From Absence (available on bandcamp) – the opener and title.


Join Emerging Indie Bands on Twitter for more release news.